Use single Gmail as Multiple Gmail

I've been working as a seniors software engineer for more than 4 years. I've mostly worked on multiple projects at the same time throughout my career. For each project I needed multiple Gmail accounts for testing purposes.

Let me clear this up with an example of a project which is called XXX. The system is based on multiple roles and dashboards like:

  • Super Admin
  • Admin
  • Staff
  • Users

One of the functionalities of the system was that Super Admin can only register users and send the credentials to their emails.

There comes the problem each time I needed to test new Admin, Staff, or Users accounts. I had to make multiple test google accounts. Which was an extra headache for me. Maybe for some of you all too.

Recently, I found some tricks about how google deal with gmail accounts and it was quite relaxing and amazing.

So, finally I found the problem to the solution of creating multiple test accounts. What if you can use single gmail account as multiple gmail accounts? Little confusing right? Let me clear this up:

Let suppose you have Gmail account as below:

Now I want to create an admin, staff, and users account from the above Gmail with some variations as below:

Admin =>

Staff =>

User =>

You have created only one Gmail account which is . Your system will accept the above variations as unique so you can register and create accounts in your system.

Here is what happens when you send an email to the below accounts:

Admin => =>

Staff => =>

User => =>

This means sending an email to any of the variations will send the email to and the rest of the variations are not the actual email and do not even exist.

Wow, it is working and is great! But how it is working?

Two points to be noted:

  1. The dot(.) is not considered in Gmail.

  2. After + sign all characters are not considered by Gmail.

This means is actually read as .

If you are working on multiple projects and need test Gmail accounts this is the best thing for you.

Hope it will help you guys

Comment for any questions or queries!